Ex-India Selector Kris Srikkanth Backs Virat Kohli To Continue Batting At No.3 Position


Former India cricketer and selector Krishnamachari Srikkanth have opined talismanic batter Virat Kohli to bat at the number three position in their predicted playing eleven. India gets underway with their final leg of preparations for the Men’s T20 World Cup kickstarting with the three-match home series against Australia, which will be followed by South Africa.

After taking a break of a month and a half from the game, Kohli roared back to form in Asia Cup 2022 and finished as the second-highest run-getter in the continental tournament. The right-hand batting dynamo amassed 276 runs in six matches at a strike rate of 147.59, including 122 against Afghanistan and a brace of fifties against Hong Kong and Pakistan respectively.

Virat Kohli. PC- Getty
Virat Kohli. PC- Getty

Srikkanth names his Playing XI for the marquee tournament

Kohli’s return to form augurs well for India in their quest to win the Men’s T20 World Cup trophy in Australia, to be held from October 16 to November 13, for just the second time after winning the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007 in South Africa.

“My playing 11, wherever you play, whether you’re playing in Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney or Perth, my playing 11 is always fixed. For the first game — KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli — number three, Suryakumar Yadav – number four, number five is Hardik Pandya, number six is Rishabh Pant, number seven — Ashwin, eight — Chahal, 9, 10, 11 — in this particular team will be Bhuvneshwar Kumar, (Jasprit) Bumrah and of course Harshal Patel,” said Srikkanth on ‘Follow The Blues’ show on Star Sports.

Former Indian Selector Kris Srikkanth (Image Credits: Twitter)
Former Indian Selector Kris Srikkanth (Image Credits: Twitter)

With this marquee tournament more than a month away, preparations for the tournament are already in motion as India plays 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs vs South Africa on 28 September against Australia in a 3-match T20I series starting from 20 September.

ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly, Jay Shah Eligible To Helm BCCI Till 2025 As SC Agrees To Amend Cooling-Off Period


Source link

Comments are closed.