Four Premier League keepers nominated for world’s best goalie including Chelsea ace Mendy but all look set to miss out


FOUR Premier League goalkeepers have been nominated for the prestigious Ballon d’Or Yashin Trophy 2022.

The Prem quartet consists of Liverpool stopper Alisson, Man City No1 Ederson, Tottenham’s first choice Hugo Lloris, and Chelsea’s safe pair of hands Edouard Mendy.

However, it’s unlikely any of the aforementioned group will win the prize as Real Madrid goalie Thibaut Courtois is favourite to lift the gong.

Alisson played a key role in helping the Reds attain the domestic double – consisting to the FA and League Cup last season.

The Brazilian is no stranger to the award he scooped upon its inception in 2019.

Deposit a minimum of £10 and get 120 FREE SPINS on Starburst with PartyCasino
PSG eye Rashford, Man Utd and Chelsea in Frenkie de Jong battle

Meanwhile, Lloris inspired Tottenham to clinch the Prem’s fourth spot in the previous campaign.

While Ederson ensured City retained their second Prem title in as many years.

Blues stopper Mendy narrowly missed out on last year’s Yashin prize to AC Milan goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma.

And he’s set for heartache once again after Cortouis’ heroics meant Los Blancos were the worthy winners of the La Liga and Champions League.


Yashin trophy nominees 2022

Award to be presented at Ballon d’Or award ceremony 2022

  • Edouard Mendy (Chelsea/Senegal)
  • Ederson (Man City/Brazil)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid/Belgium)
  • Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia)
  • Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France)
  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla/Morrocco)
  • Mike Maignan (AC Milan/France)

The remarkable feat has propelled Cortouis above his Prem rivals in the race for the award.

But he’s also got to thwart competition from – Atletico Madrid goalie Jan Oblak, Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer, Sevilla stopper Yassine Bounou, AC Milan’s Mike Maignan, plus Eintracht Frankfurt counterpart Kevin Trapp – to clinch the coveted prize.

And for the first time since 2005, the Yashin trophy winner won’t share the stage with Lionel Messi who’s been left off the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist after a poor debut season at PSG.

Messi retained the award for the seventh time last year, but he won’t be given the opportunity to win it for an eighth.

The Argentine’s omission caused fury amongst football fans who took to social media to express frustration over his absence.

However, Cristiano Ronaldo is in with a shout of clinching the prize this year despite a tumultuous spell with Man United last season.

Other stars on the shortlist include Real hotshot Karim Benzema, former Chelsea defender Antonio Rudiger, and Reds attacker Mo Salah.

Courtois also made the list – but a goalie will never win the prize with the likes of Benzema gunning for it, he thinks.

If successful, the Belgian will be the first keeper since Russian ace Lev Yashin to lift the Ballon d’Or who done so in 1963.

His amazing feat led to the Yashin award being named after him.


Source link

Comments are closed.