Twitter Reacts As India Win 1st T20I vs West Indies To Register 4th Successive Win On The Tour


The first T20I match of the five-match T20I series between Rohit Sharma-led India National Cricket Team and Nicholas Pooran-led West Indies National Cricket Team was played at the Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad on Friday, July 29.

India National Cricket Team won the first T20I match by 68 runs against West Indies National Cricket to take a 1-0 lead in the series. Also, this was India’s 4th successive win over the hosts on the tour, having already won the three-match ODI series by 3-0.

ICC Teams  Rankings | ICC Players Rankings

Earlier, West Indies won the toss and elected to field first in the match. Pacer Alzarri Joseph made his T20I debut and Shimron Hetmyer made his comeback to the side. West Indies fielded one spinner in Akeal Hosein and India, on the other hand, played 3 spinners, including Ravi Bishnoi, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

Rohit Sharma Played A Captain's Knock In The First T20I
Rohit Sharma Played A Captain’s Knock In The First T20I PC- ESPN

In the absence of KL Rahul, many expected Rishabh Pant to open the innings for India alongside Rohit Sharma. However, Suryakumar Yadav was given the opening spot. Indian openers batted aggressively and they managed to score 43 runs in the first 4 overs.

Akeal Hosein broke the opening stand of India by dismissing Suryakumar Yadav, who scored 24 runs off 16 balls, on the 4th ball of the 5th over. Obed McCoy dismissed Shreyas Iyer for a 4-ball duck on the 5th ball of the 6th over and at the end of the powerplay, India were at 45/2.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya failed to make any major contributions with the bat as the 24-year-old was cleaned up by Keemo Paul for 14 and the 28-year-old was dismissed by Alzarri Joseph for 1.

Indian captain Rohit Sharma’s stunning knock came to an end on the 5th ball of the 15th over. He scored 64 runs off 44 balls, including 7 fours and 2 sixes, before being dismissed by Jason Holder.

Image Source – Twitter

In the end, India were able to post 190/6 on the board with the help of Dinesh Karthik’s sensational cameo knock. The wicketkeeper-batsman was able to smash 41 runs off 19 balls, including 4 fours and 2 sixes. He also added 52 runs in just 25 balls with off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin.

Chasing the target, West Indies lost the wicket of Kyle Mayers in the 2nd over itself as he was dismissed by left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh. Jason Holder, who was promoted in the batting order, was cleaned up for a duck by Ravindra Jadeja.

Shamarh Brooks was the third West Indies batter to get out inside powerplay as he was castled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Soon Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell,  Shimron Hetmyer and Odean Smith got out and West Indies were reduced to 86/7.

Arshdeep Singh. PC-AP
Arshdeep Singh. PC-AP

In the end, West Indies got restricted to 122/8. Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi and Ravichandran Ashwin picked up 2 wickets each for India while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravindra Jadeja bagged one wicket each.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To India vs West Indies 1st T20I:


Also Read: IND vs WI: Revealed Who Is India’s Vice-Captain For T20I Series vs West Indies And It’s Not Rishabh Pant

Get All Cricket match prediction and fantasy Tips – CLICK HERE

Cricket Match Prediction | T20 World Cup Match Prediction | Today Match Fantasy Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket News and Updates | Cricket Live Score


Source link

Comments are closed.